Creative Industries Asia

Asia | Government

ASEAN seal | Creative Industries AsiaThe Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) was established on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok by the five original Member Countries, namely, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand. Brunei Darussalam joined on 8 January 1984, Vietnam on 28 July 1995, Lao PDR and Myanmar on 23 July 1997, and Cambodia on 30 April 1999.

ASEAN Statisticians and Media to Raise Awareness on ASEAN Statistics

HANOI, 3 July 2014 – Statisticians and journalists from ASEAN Member States participated in a Training of Trainers and Training on Public Relations and Statistics from 27 June-2 July in Hanoi, Viet Nam to address data users’ low awareness of the availability of ASEAN statistics, as revealed in recent surveys.

The objective of the project is to promote ASEAN statistics through regular press releases and snapshot publications, both at the regional and national statistical systems levels. It also allows the ASEAN Member States to present their data and improve their communication skills.

The training engaged the participants in role playing activities, such as making presentations, writing press releases and conducting interviews during a crisis in a typical statistic office environment.

Journalists were provided with basic training in statistics to better appreciate statistical concepts and definitions, while the statisticians were taught to present their numbers in a more appealing way to media and data users.

The event was hosted by General Statistics Office of Viet Nam and organised by Statistics Division of the ASEAN Secretariat with support from Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH commissioned by the Federal Foreign Office of the Federal Republic of Germany, and the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

China’s Silk Road Strategy

Xi Jinping’s real answer to the Trans-Pacific Partnership.
“The United States and China are locked in behind-the-scenes competition over free trade agreements. The United States is promoting the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP), a massive free trade agreement including 12 nations but excluding China. Beijing, in a move many see as a push against the U.S. rebalance to Asia, hopes to garner support for the Free Trade Area of the Asia-Pacific (FTAAP), a less sweeping agreement that would include China.”

Asia-Europe Meeting (ASEM)

The Asia-Europe Meeting (ASEM) is an informal process of dialogue and cooperation bringing together the 28 European Union member states, 2 other European countries, and the European Union with 21 Asian countries and the ASEAN Secretariat. The ASEM dialogue addresses political, economic and cultural issues, with the objective of strengthening the relationship between our two regions, in a spirit of mutual respect and equal partnership.
read more

Asia | Associations

Asia-Europe Foundation (ASEF)

The Asia-Europe Foundation (ASEF) promotes understanding, strengthens relationships and facilitates cooperation among the people, institutions and organisations of Asia and Europe. ASEF enhances dialogue, enables exchanges and encourages collaboration across the thematic areas of culture, economy, education, governance, public health and sustainable development. ASEF is a not-for-profit intergovernmental organisation located in Singapore. Founded in 1997, it is the only institution of the Asia-Europe Meeting (ASEM).
Together with about 700 partner organisations ASEF has run more than 650 projects, mainly conferences, seminars and workshops. Over 17,000 Asians and Europeans have actively participated in its activities and it has reached much wider audiences through its networks, web-portals, publications, exhibitions and lectures.
read more

Asia | Cultural & Creative Industries

  • 89th Textile Institute World Conference
    89th Textile Institute World Conference
  • Enabling Crossovers - Good Practices in the Creative Industries
    ASEF: Enabling Crossovers – Good Practices in the Creative Industries

Member states

In alphabetical order

Korea, South